Individuals turning private land into wildlands

CathyB

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I'm looking for subjects for an article about individuals who have decided to make part or all of their property a wildlife habitat, or just let it return to its original natural state for conservation reasons. I have a subject who was a lifelong Wyoming rancher, and has transformed all of his ranch land into wildland; and also an upstate New York man who hunted all his life, then stopped and instead dedicated his time and property to rehabilitating injured birds of prey. Ideally I'd love a subject from a different part of the country than Wyoming or upstate New York, but would love anyone to reply. These potential subjects would include those who allow a small part of their yard to go wild, and those who dedicate more substantial portions of their properties to wildlands.

I'm a published writer and photographer. I would potentially like to come out and photograph your property.

Thank-you so much!
Cathleen

GeorgeK

ever seeking
Registered
Reaction score
I have 192 Acres, of which I personally replanted most of it into woods with local hardwoods from the state dept of Forestry. The trees are about 20-30 feet tall now and I've fenced for livestock and gardening about 22 acres. I like a bufferzone of trees such that I can't see another house, plus I like to watch the wildlife and use a variety of feeders to watch, not hunt. ( I use more than 50 pounds of sugar a year, just on hummingbird feeders. It is so mindboggling to see a flock of hummingbirds, something I never saw as a kid. My wife and daughter are trying to figure out how to do a streaming feed for our farm website, just to watch the hummers.)