Reaction score
Website
annvevera.blogspot.com
Last edited:

Seaclusion

Absolute Parsley
Registered
Reaction score
Good for you. Peace and tranquility is worth more than any job can provide.

Unfortunately, it doesn't pay as much.

Richard

Frodo

Registered
Reaction score
Website
annvevera.blogspot.com
I don't know if the link works very well, but you can also reach the article by using yahoo search and typing: telegraph uk + quit the rat race

sorry!

Kryianna

Registered
Reaction score
I've been there myself.

I worked as a systems administrator for several years. The only time people would notice me was when a server was down. It really beat down on me to have my only acknowledgment ever be negative.

I shifted to work on the other side, and now develop web applications. Seeing a well designed website, getting compliments from users, and seeing high sales numbers for selling our online product give me positive reinforcement each day. Even though I was great at being a sys admin, I couldn't go back to it. Ever. Not now when I know what a better work environment is like!

Clair Dickson

A dark core to every cloud
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bofexler.blogspot.com
Is that 35 years? The comma threw me.

Thirty five years of anything can begin to wear on a person, I'm sure. (Okay, I have, like no experience since I'm one uv them youngins') but I do believe that happiness is crucial in daily life. Hopefully you enjoyed what you were doing at least most that time.

And best wishes in finding something else that makes you happy. My hubby really likes having a job that doesn't come home with him-- ever. It doesn't pay a lot, but he enjoys where he works and at the end of the day, he's done. He punches out and does something else.