PDA

View Full Version : Conference Question....

Jordygirl
08-12-2008, 01:46 AM
I'm a young writer (but very serious about writing) and if I save up for the next few months I'll be able to go to a writers' conference. I've heard that going to conferences is a good idea if you're serious about writing, but I'm not entirely sure what goes on. What would be the benefits of me going?

Linda Adams
08-12-2008, 02:02 AM
Depending on the conference:

Lots of workshops. I went to Thrillerfest a few years ago, and the workshops were given by best selling writers that I had read. My local writer's conference isn't as good; when I actually attended (I volunteer now and don't actually attend), I always had a hard time finding workshops to go to. Many of them just weren't what I was looking for. So when you look at a writer's conference, look through their workshop list before paying and see if they're going to interest you.

Agent Roundtables/Agent Breakfasts: These are opportunities to ask the agent questions. Sometimes they get pretty interesting, and you'll pick up a lot of good info.

Meeting agents. Even if your book isn't ready, a conference is a great way to just see how the agents work. I run the pitch sessions, and there's always a few writers who have celebrityitis. They're afraid of disturbing the agent or want to gush all over them. I volunteered for the pitch sessions originally because my WIP wasn't ready and I figured it was a great way to observe without worrying about goofing anything up by being nervous.

Pitch sessions. If your book is done, you can pitch it to them in anywhere from two to ten minute sessions, depending on the conference.

Autograph sessions/book sales: Thrillerfest had a book sale where the authors autographed the books. My other conference just had the book sale.

And a lot of socializing. You meet other people, and you never know who you might end up sitting next to or eating lunch with.

Jordygirl
08-12-2008, 09:03 PM
Thanks.