Help me find a job

JimmyB27

Hoopy frood
Registered
Reaction score
In the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable e
Website
destinydeceived.wordpress.com
So, it's well beyond time I knuckled down and took this job finding thing seriously. But...what sort of job do I look for?
This is a serious question, I'm at a complete loss. I really have no idea what I should be doing.
I know one thing, I'm a lot better than the job I'm doing right now. But I've been doing this job for nearly ten months now, and that's got to be a score against me when it comes to applying for better stuff, right?

Ok, let me start at the start.
I have a degree in Computer Science. I went to university fully intending to join the RAF as a pilot. That fell through. I did the testing and discovered I'd be excellent at almost every job the RAF could offer me, including pilot, but I unfortunately I'd make a dreadful officer.
Problem is, when it came to choosing modules for my degree, I didn't choose with any sort of plan for a career in, say, web design, or development or whatever. I just picked whatever interested me at the time. The result is that I got a broad, but fairly shallow education. That, combined with my natural laziness, meant that my degree is not worth as much as it might have been.
After university, I spent a couple of years travelling, which compounded the problem as I soon forgot most of what I learnt.
After that, I had a few temp jobs, before settling for a while at the Open University on one of their IT desktop support teams. That was cool, but after a year, they wanted to take on someone permanently ) I was technically there as a temp), and I failed the interview for my own job.
A friend of mine worked for DaimlerChrysler (as it was then) and, through him, I landed another long term temp contract as a Database administrator.