Clockwork.

Ageless Stranger

Dave Brubeck kicks your ass.
Registered
Reaction score
Could someone explain to me the limits of clockwork?

For example;

How fast can it go? What effects the speed? How large an object can it move/propel? Does it depend on the size of the mechanism?

I'm a noob when it comes to clockwork so I apologise is my quesitons come off as ill informed.

Haggis

Evil, undead Chihuahua
Registered
Reaction score
Could someone explain to me the limits of clockwork?

For example;

How fast can it go? What effects the speed? How large an object can it move/propel? Does it depend on the size of the mechanism?

I'm a noob when it comes to clockwork so I apologise is my quesitons come off as ill informed.

Clockwork is very limited. He talks funny too.

What?

hammerklavier

It was a dark and stormy night
Registered
Reaction score
Clockwork is just a bunch of gears driven by, in most cases, a spring or a weight which is gradually pulled down by gravity. The clockwork is regulated by mechanics, in a grandfather clock a pendulum regulates the speed. A very large spring or very heavy weight could increase the power (with larger gears to handle the increased forces), take away the regulator and you have much more power and speed. For example, a trebuchet (very large catapult) works on some of the same principles.

Wind or water powered mills, steam engines and modern car engines all work by similar processes, so the possiblities are seemingly endless.

Some of the drawbacks are 1) more power introduced into the system requires larger heavier gears made of tougher stuff 2) each gear adds friction and takes away power, so doing something very complex is difficult.

Ageless Stranger

Dave Brubeck kicks your ass.
Registered
Reaction score