Legal help: 16 year old with family murdered

Meigner

Registered
Reaction score
Ok, this is my first post here. I'm a Brazilian author, self-published my first book back in 2006 and need a little bit of legal feedback to help me unravel a sequel.

A 16 year old boy who's parents disappeared (actually murdered but no one other then the boy knows) was for several years since the "abandonment" raised by his aunt and uncle both recently murdered as well (uncle's body in bedroom and aunt went "missing", police suspect her of having killed the husband - true - and are looking for her. My question is what happens to the boy? His parents owned the house that he lived in with his aunt and uncle and also there must me money in the bank and such, does he have access to this straightaway or is it safe kept for him until he reaches legal age? If safe kept, is it by the courts since the boy has no other living relative? And, the most important question, can he live on his own? Make decisions like dropping out of school, changing states...?

(This story is set in the USA, no state was actually mentioned in the original novelette)

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm certainly no expert, but he would first probably be taken into custody by the state agency changed with caring for minors when there is no parents or legal guardians. Those state agencies go by different name in different states; where I live it's called the Department of Human Services.

If the kid is sixteen he might be able to petition the courts to allow him to be considered an adult (it's called "being emancipated"). There would have to be reasons for the court to grant such a petition. They wouldn't consider it for a twelve-year-old, but they might for a sixteen-year-old who shows maturity and the ability to take care of himself. They might very well demand that he remain in school.