So Frustrating!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelancholyMan

Wear Thick Armor
Registered
Reaction score
Occasionally someone will read one of my manuscripts. Generally the response varies from good to incredible. But I can't even get an agent to respond to a query, much less send me a G.D. rejection. WTF is up with that? It's really starting to piss me off. :Headbang:

-MM

Karen Duvall

Chalice the Hatchet Knight
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.karenduvall.blogspot.com
MM, you've probably been asked this a dozen times already, but have you posted your query to query hell? If not, you really should. I promise to take a look and offer my feedback. Not that I'm an expert or anything, but I don't crit much in SYW. I will for you if you want. So will others, I'm sure. We just need to know ahead of time that it's in there.

JAK

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.johnakarr.com
Gotta switch from writer to marketer. Sounds like the writing's solid. Now you've got to hook an eye-weary reader who's seen it all in the publishing biz, which means the query letter, to Karen's point.

SherriC

Registered
Reaction score
Website
sherricornelius.com
But I can't even get an agent to respond to a query, much less send me a G.D. rejection. WTF is up with that? It's really starting to piss me off. :Headbang:

-MM

That seems strange to me, that you're not getting any responses at all. Maybe I'm wrong here, but I'd think they'd at least send you a form rejection. How many agents have you sent queries to? How long have you been waiting?

nerds

of all the gin joints
Registered
Reaction score
MM, I subscribe to Kristin Nelson's e-newsletter, and she mentions that August can be a slow agenting time "Because often the key decision makers are away on holiday."

Also many agents themselves take a summer break of a week or so, just like regular people.