Random Acts of Kindness

MoonWriter

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I experienced one today.

Shortly after 1:00 am, Ginger, my loving golden retriever and matriarch of the herd, lost her battle with cancer. I felt like I was punched in the stomach. I couldn't breath. When my wife and son went to bed, I stumbled across the backyard to my office, where the sounds of my grief wouldn't keep my family awake. After the tears ran dry, I felt very alone. It was too late to call my sisters or brother, so I decided to check in with my AW family.

As seen from my post total, I don't contribute very much. I'm still learning from others. But for nearly every post, I've received a rep from Susie. And early this morning, when I felt all alone, I had a random rep from her, telling me hi and hoping all was well. I smiled. I then repped her and let her know all wasn't well. Having someone to share my grief with at that moment really helped, and that's why Susie's smilie has wings. Thanks, Susie.

I don't normally post about my problems, but I thought I'd share how a random act of kindness helped to ease my pain.

Share your experience with random acts of kindness - those given and those received.

BTW - Ginger is still in the dining room. She's covered and her head is resting on a small pillow. I've buried too many pets. The last one, Redd, my male golden, nearly killed me. I can't force myself to put Ginger in a hole. Prayers for strength, please.

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Moon, Susie's like a god around here, for being among the kindest, most caring people any of us has ever met.

If you lived in my city, I'd be over to take proper care of Ginger, treating her with the loving respect a good pet deserves. I've put too many beloved animals in the ground, too, so doing it for someone else would be almost as kind as Susie is every day.