PDA

View Full Version : Literary Agent: History Book MA

sagean27
08-04-2008, 01:21 AM
Hello,

I am new to his forum and I had a few questions not sure if I am in the right section. My father recently published two books; "Portugal's Golden Years: The Life and Times of Prince Henry the Navigator" as well as "Lusair" about the first international commercial flight to the Azores. He is having some difficulty getting his book "out there". I have been looking up local literary agents and was not sure if anyone had any referrals or great agencies we should look into.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am a 24 year old single mom and just want to make my father's dream come true.

-Catarina

Puma
08-04-2008, 05:41 AM
Hi Catarina - you say your father published - as in self-published? That's the first question and your answer to that will make a big difference in the types of suggestions you'll get. Can you expand a bit on what you meant by that? Puma

Momento Mori
08-04-2008, 02:18 PM
Hi, sagean27 and welcome to AW.

It looks like one of your dad's books has been published with Dorrance (I could find it in E-book format), so I'm presuming that's also the case with the other one.

I'm very sorry to be the one to tell you this, but I think that you need to take a look at this thread (http://absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8500&page=7) because Dorrance is an expensive vanity publisher. As a result, they are not going to do anything to help get your dad's book out on the market and they certainly won't help to get it in bookstores. It's probable that he will spend more money trying to do so than he could ever hope to receive back in sales.