Querying: What to Expect?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Molly Golightly

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm really new here and I'm really new to the querying process. I just finished my first ms and am querying agents. It was heartening in a misery-loves-company kind of way to know that I'm not alone in all the waiting-agony. Anyhow, I only have about 7 queries I haven't heard back about and one partial sent one week ago to an agency.

Part of me can't believe I'm about to type this, but it's Friday and I can't keep checking my inbox all weekend!
In your experiences, do agents respond over the weekend?

Sorry, that's kind of a silly question but I have so much unrequitted love for my inbox, I can't keep clicking on it.

Thanks for any responses!

Molly

triceretops

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
Website
guerrillawarfareforwriters.blogspot.com
Molly, many agents do respond over the weekend because many of them take their work home with them. I personally received a contract from an agent on Christmas day. But I wouldn't hold my breath, okay? Try and concentrate on future packages, or get involved with a new project. If your experience is anything resembling normal, be prepared for much rejection and waiting. Try to adjust to it and keep your spirits up, and remember that it is all part of the process that every writer goes through.

Tri--welcome to the Sub-terranean world.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score
I can't help with the agent side of things because I don't have one. I do with triceretops that you should start another project. Keep writing and you won't have time to worry about the in box. And welcome to AW.

Dragonfly45

Purveyor of the Sparkly
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.colbymarshall.blogspot.com