Puzzling Problems with Popper

Ruv Draba

Banned
Reaction score
[I don't know whether the question as stated fits properly within this subforum, but it's a really interesting question. I think that it has some bearing on belief in writings, and therefore may impact on critique... however I haven't drawn that out very far in my response because I'm still grappling with the original question. Anyway, apologies in advance if it's too off-topic.]

I'm no expert on Popper, and don't pretend to be a philosopher but I hung out with philosophers for a large part of my postdoctoral research (which was in formal logic), so I'll kick in some informal opinion here.

It's long been recognised that induction is an axiom of mathematical thought. There's no way to prove or disprove it but it's an awfully convenient axiom for dealing with well-ordered structures. Induction lets us generalise on the behaviour of well-ordered systems by considering a few examples and then showing how it can hold for the rest of them.

Higgins, please correct me on this if appropriate, but Popper's problem with induction seems to revolve around it not being falsifiable - and therefore presumably being an article of faith in the orderliness of the world.

In practice, our life strategies often rely on a world that's very orderly - at least where it counts. If we ever drive a car on an undivided road, we are using something like inductive reasoning to assure ourselves that oncoming cars won't collide with us (the first hundred don't, and everyone has presumably been trained the same way, so...) If we accept pay in currency rather than millet we are using inductive reasoning to assure ourselves that the bills we get paid today will be worth much what they were worth yesterday (prices have been stable for the last month, and nothing much has changed, so...)