PDA

View Full Version : MS Word cock-ups (naughty word included)



Elodie-Caroline
07-26-2008, 11:07 PM
Have of you ever written a word, that you know exists, and yet MS Word kindly tries to replace it for you? Thankfully there's the default language chooser, as I like to write proper English English and not Americanized English. Anyway, that's by the by.

Have you ever written the word 'wank' on MS Word? I did once, for one of my novels I was writing. I actually wrote 'wank-mag'; my girl had appeared in Playboy and us Brits call it a wank-mag. MS Word made me burst out laughing at my computer; it underlined it in red and wanted me to change it to walkman! LOL. :D

P.S. It underlines just a simple wank too. I guess we're not old enough to use naughty words in our novels, eh?


Elodie (who has never described herself as ladylike anyway) :tongue

Clair Dickson
07-26-2008, 11:30 PM
XD

That's funny.

MSWord doesn't do well with a lot of slang, really. I just add them to my dictionary and not think about it.

maxmordon
07-27-2008, 12:04 AM
Happens to me from time to time. Not in the newest Word but the oldest one seemed to follow a Jr. High Dictionary with all the swear words removed

Matera the Mad
07-27-2008, 05:36 AM
Turn off the f%cking underlining! ;)

Deccydiva
07-27-2008, 11:31 AM
I used to know a professional magician, won't tell you his surname but it was always "corrected" to Amateur!:roll:Maybe it was trying to tell him something!

Maryn
07-27-2008, 07:03 PM
I would not have hyphenated wank-mag, myself. Still, I agree that MS Word does poorly on slang and common vernacular, on this side of the Atlantic anyway.

I once wrote that a guy tuned out a woman's nattering at him, instead looking at her breasts. Spell check wanted nattering to be neutering--pretty hard to ignore even if her breasts are delectable.

Maryn, who never sold that one

Matera the Mad
07-28-2008, 02:57 AM
:roll:
She might have wanted to, though

superman skivvies
07-28-2008, 03:08 AM
I use word 97. Yes that's right. 97. And it does this all the time. Unfortunately half of the time the words aren't spelled right anyway. I'm bad speller when it comes to long words. It gets really annoying because it puts little squigglies under common names like Belinda.

Clair Dickson
07-28-2008, 03:42 AM
I use word 97. Yes that's right. 97. And it does this all the time. Unfortunately half of the time the words aren't spelled right anyway. I'm bad speller when it comes to long words. It gets really annoying because it puts little squigglies under common names like Belinda.

Have you considered adding those words to your dictionary? The first thing I do when I get my hands on a computer is put in all the names and such I use.

(Right click the "mispelled" word and select "Add to Dictionary." Word can't know everything.)

willfulone
07-28-2008, 04:43 AM
Have you considered adding those words to your dictionary? The first thing I do when I get my hands on a computer is put in all the names and such I use.

(Right click the "mispelled" word and select "Add to Dictionary." Word can't know everything.)


You know, I knew this from when I used to do glove catalogues (strange names for gloves would get flagged in text all the time) and I completely forgot about this feature. It was 18 years ago that I did the work, so I will use that as an excuse.... Thank you, I will do this now that you reminded me.

Christine

superman skivvies
07-28-2008, 05:33 AM
Have you considered adding those words to your dictionary? The first thing I do when I get my hands on a computer is put in all the names and such I use.

(Right click the "mispelled" word and select "Add to Dictionary." Word can't know everything.)
I do that. And it seems to forget everytime I close the program. The next day it will do it again. Yeah, Word 97. Woo hoo!

Clair Dickson
07-28-2008, 05:46 AM
I do that. And it seems to forget everytime I close the program. The next day it will do it again. Yeah, Word 97. Woo hoo!

I had Word97 for a long time and never had that problem...

Check your options for Word-- is it set to remember the Custom Dictionary? Is there a box "Suggest from Main Dictionary Only" checked? If it is, then it may not be using your custom dictionary.

You can also PM me (so we don't complete derail this thread! =)