PDA

View Full Version : How Do You Know if You Have Talent?

deborah811
07-23-2008, 05:22 AM
Hi,

I am new to all of this - not the world, mind you, but the writing world. Honestly, how do you know if you have talent? Must I move to Key West (can't afford it), get some six-toed cats (allergic) and start drinking a lot (that I can do here), in order to really be a writer?

I have extensively searched the internet for a mentor (constantly distracted by "Can I Get a Mentor" to the tune of "Can I Get a Witness" running through my head). Anyway, if anyone knows of a mentoring program, I would greatly appreciate some guidance.

I am new to this site - seems like a lot of nice and knowledgeable people here.

Thanks,

Matera the Mad
07-23-2008, 05:40 AM
You just know, dahling. And if you can write an amusing forum post that makes sense off the top of your head, you probably do. Heh, dive in and prove it.

maestrowork
07-23-2008, 05:42 AM
If you've got it you've got it. There's nothing to it.

Puma
07-23-2008, 05:46 AM
Hi Deborah811 - Look around here at the forums and then after you have a bit of an idea how things work (be sure to look at stickied items at the tops of forums), move on to the Share Your Work Forum (password protected but open to everyone) and take a look at the types of works people are putting up there to be critiqued. Read the initial posts and then look at the critiques. If you're not intimidated, post a short selection of yours in whichever of the genre specific share your work forums is most appropriate and see what kind of comments you get. That should help you have an idea pretty quickly. But again - before you post, be sure to read the advice for newcomers and other stickies in the Main Share Your Work Forum - doing so can save a lot of problems and heartaches. Good luck and welcome to AW. Puma

veinglory
07-23-2008, 05:48 AM
Here are some options: