Full MS Rejected

Status
Not open for further replies.

KC Sunshine

Registered
Reaction score
Today I received an email from an agent who had my full manuscript who said he had to pass. He had some interesting feedback but what really shook me was the fact that he said a book with an extremely similar premise had just gone to auction. He said he didn't think it meant there wasn't room for my book but agents might be wary about picking it up, as the other book is getting a lot of pre publicity.

He was really lovely and said I was a very gifted writer line by line but he had concerns with the overall structure of the work. He said if I was going to send it out in light of the recent sale of this other book, then my MS would have to be close to perfect (which is very hard, a manuscript can't really be perfect, just perfect for the agent who decides to pick it up).

Anyway, I'm wondering what I'm doing all this for. Don't know if I should throw in the towel or push ahead with another novel. Feeling pretty sorry for myself.

Appalachian Writer

Somewhere in the hills....
Registered
Reaction score
KC, I'll tell you what a friend of mine told me when I felt very much like you do right now. Never give up, even on this book. Tweek. Revise. Tweek some more. Sure, work on you WIP, get it done. If you're a writer, my friend said, you write. Sooo...I didn't give up. Now, I have a revise and resubmit request from a pretty darn good agent, and I have 2 WIP's that I'm darned proud of. You can do it, but only if you have the courage to keep at it. Do you? That's the question.

nerds

of all the gin joints
Registered
Reaction score
Crudcakes. That's crummy, really. I'd be feeling exactly the same way.