The Ideal Day Job for Writers

Status
Not open for further replies.

scheherazade

Human
Registered
Reaction score
To take a tangent from another thread: If you had to pick any day job to support your writing life, what would it be? (Note, the "day job" can take place at any time of day.) Would you pick your current job or something completely different?

JamieFord

giving resonant directions
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamieford.com
I think it was Brandon Sanderson that said his first job was as a night desk clerk at a hotel. I guess it allowed plenty of time to write while on the job.

KC Sunshine

Registered
Reaction score
I agree Jamie. Something with no responsibility and all the time in the world. Perhaps receptionist at a company where the phone never rings?

geardrops

Good thing I like my day job
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.geardrops.net
I'm a programmer. It suits me perfectly.

No, I don't have time during the day to write. Snatches here and there, nothing substantial. The reason it works for me is because it allows me to be left-brained. I'd go batty if I had to be perpetually one half or the other.

Jenifer

Now with extra neurotic filling.
Registered
Reaction score
I am interested in working in corporate finance... I think that would be the ideal day job for me. It pays well, is not influenced by magic fireballs from space (the numbers are there or they're not)... or so it would seem. ;)

Finni

discipula vitae
Registered
Reaction score
I'm a cat herder.

On a less serious note, I would think the perfect job for a writer would include being near creative people. Creative people feed off each other. Mutual symbiosis.

maxmordon

Penúltimo
Registered
Reaction score
Website
twitter.com
Translator. Specially for movies and TV shows since less vocabulary is required, really helps you to get into the mind of characters who aren't yours (the Dr. Gonzo Method :D)

darrtwish

Registered
Reaction score