Trouble in the Kitchen - Making new recipes

Stew21

Registered
Reaction score
No fires, thank goodness, but I do have a mess on my hands. I'm an experimental cook. I make up recipes all the time.
I thought I'd try something different today. Boy did I.

Here's what I did, and what I'm going to try to do (and I hope you join me). I'm going to post what I did, what worked, what didn't and see if I can figure out how to improve on it.

Suggestions welcome, but post you're own too.

What I did:
I took some sausage, browned it with one small onion, and then diced up a granny smith apple and threw that in. I added salt pepper and a dash of cinnamon.
I took it out of the skillet - drained it, then added I egg (scrambled with fork) and a bit of milk.
I flayed some chicken breast halves(to make them flat and open). Stuffed them with the mixture, used toothpicks to close them and threw them back in the skillet to brown them.

What went wrong:
I'm thinking, nice chicken breast with a sausage apple stuffing...except:

the mixture is too runny.
The mixture is too lumpy.
The chicken breast halves just don't hold very much and no amount of toothpicks is going to hold in egg and milk.
I thought the skillet was a good fix for this that's why I browned them.
I made entirely too much stuffing and have nothing to cook the chicken in (seems it would need a bit of a sauce or gravy to cook well without drying out.)
My solution was to put the browned chicken breast sans toothpicks directly into the pan with the extra mixture, to cover it with foil and to bake it.

This has the potential to REALLY SUCK.

next time:

When I brown the sausage I'm going to crumble it as finely as possible.
Instead of milk to hold it together, since that will only work once baked, I'm going to put in some breadcrumbs and go for a dryer mixture.
And I'm going to make less stuffing and bake with a tiny bit of chicken broth in the bottom of the pan.