PDA

View Full Version : Sedation (IV) after surgery

Tilda
07-20-2008, 10:09 AM

C.M. Daniels
07-20-2008, 10:52 PM
After my most recent surgery, I was given morphine while in recovery. That kept me sedated like nobody's business. As far as dosage, I'm not sure. It will vary from person to person, what dose they get.

I wish I could be of more help.

Izunya
07-21-2008, 02:41 AM
Demerol! Lovely, lovely demerol, so . . . bendy . . .

Seriously, I'm not a medical professional, so I don't know much about this stuff. I do know that after gall-bladder surgery, I was given Demerol. I also know that all my female relatives go pretty loopy on Demerol. I'm a fairly mild case; I just acquired a cheerfully unrestrained potty-mouth. My grandmother patted the doctor down to find her purse.

In other words, Demerol is a very strong painkiller. It doesn't knock a person out, but you can't exactly do algebra when you're on it, either. I think how much they sock you with depends on your body weight, but they can hook you up with a self-administer button—on a timer, of course, to prevent overdose. You can actually feel the stuff moving through your body.

It's also, IIRC, pretty strictly controlled because it can be seriously addictive.

Izunya

Chumplet
07-21-2008, 02:51 AM
My sister had a little button on the end of a wire that administered Demrol when her pain was making her toes curl. It allowed a bit of painkiller to flow from her IV as needed.

Horseshoes
07-21-2008, 06:40 AM
First need to know the pt and surg. Any medical hx and complications, age, gender, oregnant, health hx and type surg. Verr diff for a lung cancer pt who just lost two lobes of a lung v. a 20 yo who just had a compound arm fx repaired.

Also, although tv uses sedation loosely, medical folk usu do not. Sedation and pain control meds are verr often not the same.

Tsu Dho Nimh
07-21-2008, 02:44 PM
Sedation is to calm them down - valium and tranquilizers