Status
Not open for further replies.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
Do you have a writing-related day job? Do you find it easier or more difficult to work on your own projects (particularly fiction) if you have to write at your day job? Would you rather have a non-writing-related day job?

And if you do have a non-writing-related day job, do you find it easier or more difficult to a) find time to write and b) get into the groove of writing?

Shadow_Ferret

Court Jester
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shadowferret.wordpress.com
I have a writing related job. I'm a tech writer. But I don't find that it makes my fiction writing any more or less difficult. I think the two styles are so far removed as to not interfere.

Let me put it this way, after doing tech writing all day, I don't find that I'm too burned out to write, in fact, all that formal, by the rules writing tends to keep my imagination chomping at the bit and it can't wait to be let loose once I get home.

And I've had non-writing jobs in the past. Same thing. My imagination is always waiting to be freed.

It's kind of like my day job makes my imagination constipated, everything builds up until, when I get home, everything bursts forth in a diahrea of ideas. (Hope no one's eating.)

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
So here's another question: Do you find having a day job help your writing (turning your imagination loose at the end of a long work day)?

Many people dream of quitting their jobs and write full-time. But is it really the best? To those who are writing full-time, do you find it more difficult now than when you had a day job?

Momento Mori

Tired and Disillusioned
Registered
Reaction score
maestrowork:
Do you have a writing-related day job?

Yup. I'm a lawyer and I spend my days drafting contracts, arguing about contracts and researching.

maestrowork: