Status
Not open for further replies.

Cate

Never Bored
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.catherineltully.com
I am a non-fiction writer, but when I do dabble in fiction, it is flash fiction--under 1000 words. Does that fit in this category?
Eek!
I am such a fiction newbie!

JenNipps

Have you JHS today?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jenifernipps.com
Cate said:
I am a non-fiction writer, but when I do dabble in fiction, it is flash fiction--under 1000 words. Does that fit in this category?
Eek!
I am such a fiction newbie!

I would think it does. :)

Even with flash fiction, you still have all the various genres and such to experiment with.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
Sure. But flash has more to do with length than genre. I think the best flash storeis are probably in Horror...?

JenNipps

Have you JHS today?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jenifernipps.com
maestrowork said:
Sure. But flash has more to do with length than genre. I think the best flash storeis are probably in Horror...?

Could be. I've never thought much about it. I've seen some intersting ones in romance, too, though.

In the contest I've been working on this year, there was a short-short story category. Some of the ones in it could definitely qualifiy as flash fiction.

Cate

Never Bored
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.catherineltully.com
I can't seem to write anything BUT flash fiction! I just run out of words.

This, is why I am not a fiction writer.

Birol

Around and About
Registered
Reaction score
I think there's some good humor flash fiction, too.

Cate, flash is more about length and less about genre. Just as a novel can be any genre -- humor, horror, scifi, fantasy, romance, contemporary -- so can flash fiction.

Anatole Ghio

Ironic Paranormal
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not sure why Maestro feels the best flash pieces are in horror... do you mean the horror section of this board?