One of those "Well Duh!" moments

Status
Not open for further replies.

dirtsider

Not so new, really
Registered
Reaction score
Writing groups are wonderful things because I pretty much stalled on my current WIP. But when I went to one of the writing groups I attend last night, I mentioned that I was having trouble, like I had hit a brick wall. So Craig, the moderator, mentioned trying to do a synopsis of the story and perhaps that will help. I've never done a synopsis before. So we ended up going over the "3 Act" breakdown of story writing at that meeting. (Normally we read and critique each other's stories.)

Well, duh!! I think I knew instinctively the breakdown of the "3 Act". Well, more like Rising Action - Climax - Falling Action. I don't recall ever going over it so well as we did last night. So now I'll go over my story and work it through the "3 Act" outline and see where I need work. I have the feeling that will do wonders. I do feel bad for making the others sit through something that I needed for myself but I like to think that they did get something out of it.

I never really got into outlining my stories in the past because to me, outlining is just something I've done for work. Just a main sentence and some notes for each sentence/scene.

dirtsider

Not so new, really
Registered
Reaction score
Well, thank you. I'll have to remember to post the 3 Act breakdown that we went over last night. It was a lot clearer than I remember learning in school. (Now granted that's been a while. lol) And it's a little different from the Rising action-Climax-Falling action. More like "Stimulus-Dark Act-Climax". He breaks each act into 3 separate parts for a total of 9 points.