Interesting rejection letter

Status
Not open for further replies.

Atlantis

Registered
Reaction score
I'm very new to marketing. For the past few months I've been trying to publish a couple of short stories. I've made alot of stupid mistakes, sending them to the wrong type of magazines, etc. It's all been a learning experience. I write about the Greek Gods. Some of my stories are rewritten versions of the myths and others are original. I sent my Eros and Psyche story, Whispers in the Dark, to a romantic spec fiction magazine a few months ago. I wasn't even sure if the story was right for them. I just got the response and it would have to be one of the most postive rejection letters I've ever gotten:

Dear Marisa,

First, let me apologize for how long it has taken us to get back to you. There were several things that happened at once, and we simply got behind in our Quantum Kiss duties.

We enjoyed reading "Whispers in the Dark." It was sweet and cleverly done. We liked seeing the mythic Pantheon from a different perspective. Unfortunately, we must decline it for QuantumKiss.

In truth, it possessed most (if not all) of the elements that we look for in a Romance, including the hero and heroine kept apart, true love, and the 'happily ever after.' One thing that we would've liked to have seen more of, was the hero and heroine battling for their love, whether by changing their assessments of each other or themselves; or facing down the conflicts, and consequences, for each other. As it came across to us, Aries had the most direct impact on the lovers being together, as opposed to them finding their own way to their 'happily ever after.' In the genre of Romance the growing relationship, and the struggle therein, is fundamental.

Thanks very much for sending it to us. Here's wishing you good luck with it elsewhere. And keep writing!