Illustrated Novels ~ Two-Part Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Write4U2

Registered
Reaction score
Website
it-is-written4u.spaces.live.com
1. Suppose I wanted to use my illustrating talents to do illustrated numbers for the chapters? I see many books have B/W illustrations. If the illustrations are good, then would they enhance the book? I personally like this, but I'm an artist. Maybe I'm goofy and different, and simply have a propensity for illustrations. Would this be a drawback to getting it published?

2. Would I send the illustrated pages as the original submission if I am asked for a sample, or spring it on an agent who shows interest?

jannawrites

no, really
Registered
Reaction score
I think it's an acceptable thing to offer your own work for, but only after you've clinched a deal. Getting down to the nitty-gritty of format and such, once you've procured an agent, would seque nicely into such a suggestion.

Good luck!

Indy Tarquinson

Registered
Reaction score
Website
medevalmaiden.deviantart.com
This is a great question, since I was wondering the same thing!

I've already drawn pictures and posted it on deviant art, since I was considering doing my story in graphic novel format but decided I wanted to go the novel route instead.

Write4U2

Registered
Reaction score
Website
I think it's an acceptable thing to offer your own work for, but only after you've clinched a deal. Getting down to the nitty-gritty of format and such, once you've procured an agent, would seque nicely into such a suggestion.

Good luck!

Great!

That's exactly what I wanted to know, and it's a logical sequence.

Thanks.

Write4U2

Registered
Reaction score
Website
This is a great question, since I was wondering the same thing!

I've already drawn pictures and posted it on deviant art, since I was considering doing my story in graphic novel format but decided I wanted to go the novel route instead.