Anybody know anything about fencing?

WendyNYC

fiddle-dee-dee
Registered
Reaction score
My 9-year-old daughter wants to start fencing. Ok, fine. So I call and get some information about classes. Along with lots of other information, they send me a waiver that says this:

I acknowledge that fencing has known and unanticipated risks which could result in physical or emotional injury,
paralysis, death, or damage to myself, to property, eliminated without jeopardizing the essential qualities of the
activity. The risks include, but are not limited to, among other things: being pierced through any part of the body,
partially or in the entirety, by metal weapons such as sabers, epees and foils

Gah! That sounds awful!

I've searched online, but I can't find much information about safety, except claims on fencing websites that it's a safe sport. What, except for all the impaling?

I have NO experience here. All I know is that most of the boys' schools in Manhattan offer fencing, and I suppose they wouldn't if it were terribly dangerous. Can anyone put my fears to rest?

ColoradoGuy

I've seen worse.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.chrisjohnsonmd.com
My college roommate was a varsity fencer. He never got hurt. Saber can be a bit wild, but foil is relatively controlled. They wear masks and protective clothing.

WendyNYC

fiddle-dee-dee
Registered
Reaction score
I've heard that about saber. Some kid coming at her wielding a saber is kind of freaking me out.

Perhaps I should bubble-wrap her under her gear.

jennontheisland

the world is at my command
Registered
Reaction score
LOL

The Man fenced for years as a kid and was never puntured. They use blunt blades and tip the swords at the end, in addition to all the protective gear.

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com