Any medical writers here? ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

writerangel

If so, I have a few questions if you would be so graciously inclined.

DebiSIIF

Hi. I'm a medical writer, mostly in the holistic field, although I've done some pharmaceutical writing too. I'll answer any questions, if I can. ;)

Debi

P.S. Oh my God, I just saw the smilies on side of the text box. I HAVE to use this one!!!!

:headbang

This has nothing to do with you -- but this is just too funny!

writerangel

Hi, Debi! Thanks for replying! :D

LOL @ your use of the smiley!!!

To my question--My strengths in writing nestle in the commercial area. I've been doing some research, and I'm thinking that medical writing might be a good fit for me.

I'm specifically interested in pharmaceutical writing and also in writing books specifically targeted to the lay reader in regards to different "common" diseases, i.e. eczema, asthma, etc.

Aside from going back to school (I have a Master's degree, so I'm a little sick of school right now ... :rolleyes ), what is the best way to break into this area?

I've perused the AMWA site but found no specific guidance there.

I have absolutely no direct writing experience in this area, but I do have background as a medical transcriptionist, so I'm thinking that those skills combined with my writing abilities may propel me in the right direction if I have the right plan of action.

Thanks in advance for any insight that you can provide. I hope that I've defined my interest clearly.

Tish Davidson