I Hate Myself and Want to Write: Writers and Depression

Status
Not open for further replies.

starrykitten

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
This seems like an odd section for this topic, but I figured it was the best one.

Lately I've been thinking about the effect that my chronic depression has on my writing. It also, of course, has shaped the way I see the world in a lot of other ways, which ends up affecting my writing. I wanted to start the general topic for people to talk about their experiences with depression as writers.

I think I'm a better writer for having experienced depression, no doubt, because I can relate better to human darkness and weakness of all sorts. I'm definitely past thinking of things as either good or bad. I also think that it's helped me to be more honest, more genuine in my writing.

I notice that depression either makes me write compulsively or not at all. Last weekend I wouldn't have gotten out of bed at all except for a story I was working on that I liked. But I completely fixated on the story and put everything into it. I think it came out really well. There have been other times when writing was that tenuous thread between me and total self-annihilation. A lot of that writing isn't very good, but there's something about it that I'll always treasure and loathe--it's inextricable from that time.

This weekend the depression is still there, though it's the not-writing kind. I was lying in bed, alert enough to have plenty of ideas, but my head isn't clear enough to do anything with them. I hate knowing there are so many stories and poems and words and ideas in me that I can't manifest just because I'm feeling too exhausted by my own depression. I don't like to journal when I'm depressed because I inevitably fixate on the negatives. I always feel better if I write something, but when I try to write and I'm too depressed too, it just makes everything worse.

Whew, that was a lot. Anybody else?

maestrowork