PDA

View Full Version : How to choose selected competing books?

ShannonC_77
06-12-2008, 11:19 AM
I'm just in the process of preparing my first non-fiction book proposal and am struggling a little with the competition aspect of it.

My books topic is going to be on dieting; not so much a specific diet plan, but rather a look at the principles behind dieting, the psychological aspects, the fitness side of things, and so on.

How would I go about choosing the top 5-7 competiting books for this? There is just so many to choose from I'm not sure where to start?

And also, on a side note, if I state in my book for example that you need one gram of protein per pound of body weight a day, will I need some type of scientifical journal reference to back this up?

(I have a degree in Physical Education and have worked as a personal trainer for many years, so I'm just going of what I've learned in univeristy or researched myself in the past).

alleycat
06-12-2008, 02:02 PM
I've never dealt with something like this, but I think I would look at the sales ranking of some of the more popular diet books on Amazon and/or elsewhere. I would also look up any related books that have appear on any of the better-known best-seller lists in the past couple of years. I would also search for books that, like yours, are not so much diet plans but about diets.

I'll offer one that sounds more like your book than the typical diet book: Losing Weight When Diets Fail by Tom Kersting.

June Casagrande
06-12-2008, 06:41 PM
Put yourself in the publisher's shoes. They see "Skinny Bitch" on the bestseller lists for months and they want to replicate that kind of success. At the same time, they see other titles that were just as worthy failing miserably.

They want to know EXACTLY why yours will be even more successful than "You, the Owner's Manual" and EXACTLY why you're different from the ones that have failed.