Journalist vs. Novelist

Joycecwilliams

Registered
Reaction score
I've been working as a reporter for 10 years (total).. and I love it. I love interviewing people, writing articles that call attention to an issue or inform the community.

Tonight I was talking with one of my colleagues and asked him if he ever wrote fiction. He said he tried many times, but never finished the pieces. He went on to explain that his brother has written several novels and is currently working in publishing.

As we talked he told me he took all journalism courses and not many English courses... and fiction writers have to read alot, which he does not do, he loves writing news stories. In fact he just gave up an Editor position to return to reporting.

What he said is so true. Writing fiction requires a lot of reading fiction.

Are there anyother writers here that write for newspapers and write fiction?

Joe270

Banned
Reaction score
Wow. Long time, no replies.

Perhaps you should open up you question a little, to something like:

Has anyone here ever made a dime on writing fiction?

EriRae

:P
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Joyce,

I wish I had majored in journalism, rather than English teaching. I wouldn't be in insurance right now (at least, I hope not).

I read my daily newspaper, my bi-monthly Writer's Digest (Jenna Glatzer has an article in the August issue--WOOHOO) and I'm trying to read 36 books this year, mostly novels, but I have read one play and one memoir. I'm on #21, so I hope to surpass 36 before the end of the year.

And I made $100 on a paper I wrote in college. That's it. I was going to say I haven't made a dime writing anything, but alas, there was that one paper on banned books that I entered into a writing contest. And it was non-fiction. So I haven't made a dime on fiction.

Hope you get more answers!

KTC

Stand in the Place Where You Live
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
ktcraig.com