PDA

View Full Version : Beta Reader Wanted for Short Comedy

crimsonlaw
06-12-2008, 12:23 AM
I am in need of someone to read a short script I have developed for a local contest. My current work is 25 pages long and I need to trim the fat a bit. I would like feedback specifically on:

Is the blasted thing even funny? I loath being that guy who just thinks he is funny...
Are the main characters realistic or are they too odd?
What parts of the script are strong and what parts are weak?
General, honest feedback.I am not at all picky about who reads this. The more feedback, the better, and the more diverse the feedback, the better. Also, my deadline is not that close, so there isn't much of a time crunch for whoever helps me out.

Thanks in advance to whoever is willing to take on such an epic task!

Captshady
06-12-2008, 01:16 AM
If you accept that I'm no expert, I'll gladly read and return my opinion.

Mr. Anonymous
06-12-2008, 02:59 AM
I'll have a look at it too, if you're still looking for people. PM if you are. I'll try to read it Friday.

lawtowriting
06-15-2008, 01:31 AM
Thanks for the welcome on the newbie thread. If you're still looking for readers, I'd be happy to take a look.

coneflower2001
06-15-2008, 01:54 AM
And you have another member interested...If you need another opinion.

crimsonlaw
06-16-2008, 07:27 PM
Thanks to everyone who has helped out so far. It's been so nice to hear back from people willing to offer criticism (unlike my friends and family who are just too nice to me). You guys kick butt and I appreciate it!

Captshady
06-20-2008, 11:23 PM
OH

MY

GOD!!!!!!!

That script was huckin' fillarious!!!!!!!! Fargin hysterical!!!!! Kudos to you, man! Holy crap I literally laughed out loud while reading it, something I rarely do. I have nothing to recommend to change, only a couple typos I found:

Page 2 typo:
------------
APRIL
(confused)
You named you dog

should be "you named YOUR dog"

------------

Page 20 typo:
------------