PDA

View Full Version : Wrote my book and it's now on the market--YEEHAW

janie
06-10-2008, 03:18 AM
Since I first came to the Non-fiction forum many many months ago, wanted to return and report good news.

Last year, I wrote a non-fiction health book. Already had a large website based on the same subject with 4000-5000 unique hits daily, so had a good platform from which to sell it. Thought my writing skills were good enough....yet, I was rejected by at least 100 agents, if not more. (I stopped counting. I'm thinking it was a lot more, closer to 200.)

I figured that part of the problem was the existence of several other books on the same subject. But...I knew firsthand that my book was from a completely different angle with breaking information, so I persisted...not beating my head against the wall with more rejections, but finally picking myself off the floor of rejection boo-hoos and deciding I would simply publish it myself, by golly.

And....equally as important, I studied three other books on the same health subject to understand how they were laid out--not the subject matter, but headings and such. I made some important changes, which in my mind, was the silver lining in the despair of a mass of rejections. It pushed me back to the book and to study other books even more.

Next, I named my own publishing company. I used two key self-publishing books to guide me. Then found someone to design my cover, and another person to format it for me, since I found Indesign WAYYYYYYY over my head. There were many many emails between myself and the formatter. lol

Then used a well-known printer, who is also my distributor. Created my publishing website, and the book began sales 8 weeks ago. It also made Amazon this past week. Yeehaw! Reviews are coming in and so far, they are all incredibly positive!! I am eager to see how things will continue to unfold as the next few months progress.