Should I propose a column?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jannawrites

no, really
Registered
Reaction score
I'm in need of advice. Or a swift kick in the pants, I suppose you could take your pick.

Because this ties in later, I'll tell you I already write a quarterly column with motherhood themes, and it's distributed to our county.

We live in a lake community that has its own monthly publication. My best friend and mom have both said, "Get on it. You should pitch a column to that paper." Part of me loves the idea, since no one else writes one (yet), and it'd be a great thing to add to my resume.

The problem is, I'm not sure of the voice and/or platform I'd use. My Mom Voice doesn't fit, especially since anyone reading the lake paper would (I hope) already read the county paper. But though I'm sure others do it, I'm not 100% certain I could base a column around general "lake living."

But then again, maybe I'm just doubting myself. I'm a writer. I should be able to write whatever I put my mind to, right? Should I bite the bullet and propose a column?

I'm asking for your opinions. I just need to get some feedback and think it through.

Please let me know what you think. And thanks in advance. :)

Last edited:

melaniehoo

And thus we begin the edits
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.melaniehoo.com
Of course I'm going to tell you to go ahead and propose the column. While you don't want to write in your "mommy voice", I think the fact that the subject matter will be different will alter it enough that readers will feel like they're getting different parts of you.

And why can't you write a lake living column? You live on a lake, right? Your blog has already touched on some of the benefits, so I'm sure you can come up with more ideas from there.

Good luck!

inkkognito

Onlyifyouwanttowillyoufin daway-Enya
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.barbnefer.com