PDA

View Full Version : What Would You Do?

MelancholyMan
06-06-2008, 05:54 PM
I'm an engineer. I work in the defense industry as a rocket scientist. Since day one I've hated it. About ten years ago I started writing as an outlet, with a hope that someday it might help lift me out of my career. This hope isn't crazy but I also know that it isn't very practical. But still, it is a hope, and if you've seen my favorite movie you know what Red said about hope.

Even though I don't care for my work, I'm very good at it when I want to be. Yet I've not been as successful as I might for obvious reasons. And when I'm really working hard on a book (I write mainstream and YA thrillers) I really hate my work. When I'm less involved in a literary project I'm more content... or, at least I'm not thinking about how much I hate it as much. You all know the drill. Either way, I've not been successful as a writer either. I feel I could be published in time if the planets line up someday, and I've had a lot of good feedback from Beta readers over the years. But we know that drill too. Oh, and I'm a 42 year old with three kids who'll be entering college all too soon.