PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Questions - I Got 'Em!

cookiehead
06-03-2008, 11:01 PM
Hi everyone: I am a freelance writer, who finally has a decent book idea. At least I am interested in it! :)

My subject would require lots of research and interviews -- mainly interviews. So my first question is: Why would people want to be in my book? What's in it for them?

Also, do I need to get all of these people to sign something saying they agreed to be in my book?

I am in the very early stages and feel really goofy asking these questions. Any help is appreciated!

soleary
06-03-2008, 11:04 PM
Can you share the topic? It might help give you the right answers. I am writing a non-fiction at present, and the people who are in it were excited to participate. I don't use their real names if they ask me not to, and do have 'em sign waivers. I don't know if it is legally necessary to do so, however, provided I am telling the truth. (Scott McClellan certainly didn't get George W.'s approval on his tell all book). Good luck!

cookiehead
06-03-2008, 11:07 PM
Not sure if I am ready to share the topic. Does that sound weird and paranoid? Is that something that I don't have to worry about here??

Basically though, it involves interviewing writers... I think if I were asked, I would love to participate. I guess I am just a pessimist!

Soleary: Did you make up the document yourself or did you have a lawyer? Not sure if I am ready for the lawyer thing yet.

soleary
06-03-2008, 11:17 PM
I did it myself. I'm in marketing, and have prepared enough docs to be comfy with doing one. I don't think you'll need one, though. Don't worry about not sharing topics. We all do what we need to do to keep our sanity :).

archetypewriting
06-08-2008, 08:27 AM