Car Wrecks

ACEnders

Self-Banned
Registered
Reaction score
Website
strugglingwritersblog.blogspot.com
In my story, the MC's sister is in a car wreck. Her husband was driving, and he's not too bad off. But her legs were crushed.

Does anyone know anything about what this could do, worst case scenario? could you lose your legs? Could you never walk again? That's kind of what I want to happen because it would be significant.

Does anyone know medical terms or where I could go for information like this? Anyone know anyone else who's been in this kind of accident?

lakotagirl

Forgot what I was gonna say
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a doctor - and I've never played one on tv. I've never been in a crash like this. But, I would think that it would be highly possible that you would never walk again. However, legs amputated would enable you to get prosthesis. Ain't modern science great!?

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'd say make it a "T-crash", one where one car hits the side of the other car (in this case the passenger side). They often occur at stoplights when one car doesn't stop. You can make the medical conditions just about anything you want. The car that crashes into the car carrying the woman could have been going at a high rate of speed, or have been a heavily loaded truck. In that case her legs could very well have been crushed.

ACEnders

Self-Banned
Registered
Reaction score
Website
I'd say make it a "T-crash", one where one car hits the side of the other car (in this case the passenger side). They often occur at stoplights when one car doesn't stop. You can make the medical conditions just about anything you want. The car that crashes into the car carrying the woman could have been going at a high rate of speed, or have been a heavily loaded truck. In that case her legs could very well have been crushed.

Great idea...thanks!

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score