• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Passive words

Status
Not open for further replies.

Diana W.

I'm evolving
Registered
Reaction score
Ok so I've read a lot of comments about passive writing and I know words like was and were are passive words. I had a problem with overusing was when I first started out but when someone first pointed it out to me I made a conscious decision to seriously limit the use of the word. especially when on my current manuscript I found I'd used the word no less than 8 times on the first page alone once even twice in the same sentence!
So I got to wondering....what other words are passive?
Just so I get it straight in my head and can limit my use of them. I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question. I am old enough to have forgotten a lot of what I learned at school regarding English lol. I'm also new to writing as I only started writing a few months ago. What are the worst offenders in passive writing?

Exir

Out of the cradle endlessly rocking
Registered
Reaction score
Happened to.

As part of a thought or dialogue, it is perfectly acceptable. As part of a narrative, it is passive, because it shows the author has no confidence in what s/he's writing. Whenever the author described the door as "happening to be jammed shut," or the main character just "happened to land with no injuries at all," or the baby just "happened to survive drowning," I feel like the author is being lazy, almost as if s/he's trying to have everything happen because of a stroke of luck.

Mumut

Well begun is half done...
Registered
Reaction score
I thought passive was not just in the word but in the construction of the sentence. 'Jenny was sad' is not passive as far as I'm concerned. I consider 'The fence was jumped by the dog' is passive compared with the active 'The dog jumped the fence'. If I'm wrong please tell me.

Hollan

Stage name = Chainsaw Sally
Registered
Reaction score
Website