My play is being staged - a question about agents

Marce1184

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all, this is my first time posting here -

A one-act I penned goes up in two weeks, at the 78th St Theatre Lab in NYC. I'm new to the game, and I was hoping to maybe parlay this small achievement into getting an agent.

I have invites printed and a list of NYC agents. I had planned to send the invite to some of the agencies, but the tickets for the festival that my play is part of are $20.

It seems audacious for me to ask an agent who has never heard of me to pay $20 to see a 40-minute one-act. Should I send the invites anyway? I don't mind the time spent and costs incurred on my part, but is it fruitless?

Any suggestions and/or personal stories are welcomed.

MarkEsq

Clever title pending.
Registered
Reaction score
In the wilds of Texas. Actually, the liberal oasi
I have neither the experience or knowledge to allow me to answer your question or give advice. But I did want to say "Congrats!" for having your play performed - I imagine it will be a real thrill to see your work come alive on stage.
Best,
Mark

endless rewrite

Registered
Reaction score
Congratulations on having your play staged.