PDA

View Full Version : What are Your Favorite Creative Nonfiction Books?

sgunelius
05-27-2008, 07:18 PM
I'm a nonfiction business writer, but I'm thinking of getting my MFA in either fiction or creative nonfiction. What are some of your favorite creative nonfiction books? I want to read some more before I make my decision.

Thanks!

underthecity
05-27-2008, 10:12 PM
I'm not sure if this counts, but how about The Great Train Robbery by Michael Crichton? It's a novel, but based on actual events.

allen

KTC
05-27-2008, 10:13 PM
Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

AND

Innocents Abroad by Mark Twain

Stew21
05-27-2008, 10:17 PM
On Whale Island, by Daniel Hayes
Mornings on Horseback, David McCullough
A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson
Neither Here Nor There, Bill Bryson

Devil Ledbetter
05-28-2008, 02:48 AM
A Walk in the Woods, Bill Bryson
I LOVE that book, Stew.

Freakonomics - Steven Levitt
Blink - Malcolm Gladwell
The Lost Art of Steam Heating - Dan Holouhan
Climbing Mount Improbable - Richard Dawkins
Me Talk Pretty One Day - David Sedaris

triceretops
05-28-2008, 03:06 AM
Seabiscuit.

Tri

Kalyke
05-28-2008, 04:09 AM
"The Coming Plague", by Laurie Garrett
"The Making of the Atom Bomb" and "Dark Sun", by Richard Rhodes

I do have a soft spot for "Seabiscuit" also
Anything by Steven J. Gould

misslissy
05-29-2008, 01:24 AM
One I like is aimed more at probably younger ages is Escape!: The Story of the Great Houdini by Sid Fleischman.

Sunnyside
05-29-2008, 07:23 PM
I kinda like Into Thin Air and Into The Wild. Those might not be creative non-fiction per se, but they're still pretty darn dramatic in the storytelling. John Adams worked for me more than 1776, though they're still great books.

And then there's always Steinbeck's Log From The Sea of Cortez or Travels With Charley. I wish I was half as good as that . . .

Stew21
05-29-2008, 07:35 PM
I LOVE that book, Stew.

Me Talk Pretty One Day - David Sedaris

Brilliant choice! I love Dave Sedaris.