Google AdWords

Status
Not open for further replies.

absolutewrite

Today, I started a Google AdWords campaign for Make a Real Living as a Freelance Writer. I've never done this before, so I'll be learning through trial and error. We use it for absoluteclasses.com and have had some success with it, so I figured, why not try it for my books?

I'll chart my progress here. I'm not sure how to track whether or not it actually produces sales, though-- right now, all I know is how many impressions my ads get (that is, how many times they're shown) and how many times people click on them.

I've placed three ads:

Write Articles, Get Paid
Experienced writer teaches you to
earn money writing for magazines.
www.jennaglatzer.com

Get Published, Get Paid.
New book teaches insider secrets of
what magazine editors want!
www.jennaglatzer.com

and

Write Killer Queries
New book teaches how to land major
magazine assignments + free bonus!
www.jennaglatzer.com

Thus far, the ads have gotten 267 impressions and only one click-through (on the first ad).

It cost me $.15 for that click. I've allotted a total budget of up to $1.75 per day for this campaign, and you're apparently allowed to create as many ads as you want to see which ones produce the best results. They'll alternate which ads they show.

My non-scientific tracking method for now is to see if my Amazon rank changes much. Currently, Make a Real Living as a Freelance Writer is ranked 5,417. It fluctuates daily, though-- yesterday it was around 4,000 and earlier in the week it was about 9,000. (This is why it'll be hard to track whether or not the AdWords really have an impact on sales.)

Anyone else ever try this method?

absolutewrite