Word Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

mr58inc

Registered
Reaction score
I am a brand spanking new writer. I don't know where to ask this question. I'll start here. I started a novel and find myself using the words "felt and thought" alot. Can you direct me to a place for help? thank you

reph

Fig of authority
Registered
Reaction score
I'll start off by answering a question you didn't ask. Is "alot" a word? No, it isn't, no matter how often you see it on the Web. You need two separate words there: "a lot."

Now, about "felt" and "thought": There are subtle ways to show that something is a character's feeling or thought. Italics can be used.

"Dwayne read the note and collapsed on the sofa. She's leaving me? Oh, no. Oh, no no no. He crumpled the note in his fist."

Often the feeling shows in what the character says or does.

"Kim squeezed Bob's hand. 'Don't worry, honey. We'll think of something.'"

You can use a character as a kind of narrator. Write a scene the way the character experiences it, including what happens and the character's perceptions.

"Jody waited in the outer office. After fifteen minutes, a man opened the door marked Operations Department–Housewares and nodded to her. He looked like someone who had spent his past forty years wishing he had a better job than middle manager in a kitchen-utensils factory."

This sort of thing is discussed in the Learn Writing with Uncle Jim thread on the Novels board. Also read lots of published fiction to see how other people do it.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
mr58inc said:
I am a brand spanking new writer. I don't know where to ask this question. I'll start here. I started a novel and find myself using the words "felt and thought" alot. Can you direct me to a place for help? thank you