PDA

View Full Version : Growth and subplots - are they required?

Piglet
05-06-2008, 12:37 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie here. *waves* I'm attempting (attempting being the operative word) to write my first novel. It is going to be a chick lit sort of novel. I'm at the planning stage at the moment.

I was wondering if it is necessary to show growth and/or change in the character. I'm thinking through my plot and I can't easily say how the character changes/grows in any meaningful way. I'm sure that after writing the novel, a progression will be evident, but should I have more idea about this now?

Also, are subplots necessary? I was thinking of Bitter is the New Black, and that doesn't really have any subplots, or maybe I'm just being dim. I have a plot worked out for my novel that I hope is ok, but no subplots. At the same time, I think I should show my main character having friends in order to make things believeable, yet they seem a bit spare part without some sort of storyline for themselves.

I'm waffling a bit here, and I know I'm not being wonderfully clear. I suppose that's because I'm not too clear about things myself. I keep going over my plot and characters, wondering if it's good enough, wondering if things are believeable and will people care.

Anyway, does anyone have any thoughts? Thank you very much.

Danger Jane
05-06-2008, 12:46 AM
Unless the point of your story is that people/situations never change, static characters are likely to bore your readers. You might just need to brainstorm a little harder...think of the events that occur, think of how your character reacts to them, and think about maybe how he could react to show that the events have changed him--you might have to change your outline. Shocking!

Subplots...if your novel is long enough with only a main plot and readers believe in your MC's sparse life, go ahead. But usually, a novel without subplots falls short of normal publishing guidelines, and that makes publication tough.