• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Author vs Writer

Status
Not open for further replies.

C.M. Daniels

Cinnamon, sit. Bad fish!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.opendiary.com
This may sound like a dumb question, but what's the difference between them?

I've been published, so does that thrust me over some strange professional line in the sand? I always tell people that I'm a writer and that I've gotten some short stories published.

So, what's your opinion?

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net
I've always thought that perhaps a writer should become an author when published -- a qualification badge, as it were.

But the dictionary doesn't really differentiate between writer and author, they're both writers.

-Derek

CACTUSWENDY

An old, sappy, and happy one.
Kind Benefactor
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
You are a writer.
You are the author of _______________.

That is my 2 cents.

WriteKnight

Arranger Of Disorder
Registered
Reaction score
30,000 light years from Galactic Central Point.
"How many writers can dance on the jot of a courrier font 'i'?"

Usage as suggested, helps to deliniate why one word is chosen over another. I submit that the Copyright Office defines the "Author" of the work as the one who originates it. So in films, the Production company is considered the "Author" of the film, rather than the Screenwriter or the Director.

Not all "Authors" are writers in the strictest sense of the word.

In common usage, most people will use the word "Author" when speaking of someone who has written a published work.

Don't lose any sleep over it.

dawinsor

Dorothy A. Winsor
VPXI
Registered
Reaction score