The Un-balance

Status
Not open for further replies.

Virector

The only one
Registered
Reaction score
So I love writing :e2writer:, and other than making music :e2violin: and sleeping :e2zzz:, that's all I enjoy doing... The problem, though, is that I'm still in school studying Math, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, (Darn! I'm supposed to be completing a biotechnology research assignment NOW! *sigh*) and non of these subjects are helping my writing, nor are they giving me enough time to get on with what I love doing. Two questions:
1. It's too late in the course for me to switch subjects, so given that I am studying the sciences in school, does that mean a career in writing fantasy is doomed? I have grand ideas, but I'm just wondering whether publishers will take me less seriously given my academic path should I send them a manuscript.
2. Given this 'un-balance' :e2seesaw:, what's a sure way to make my writing shine given limited time and antithetic commitments? Please help me with any tips. Thanks.

mscelina

Teh doommobile, drivin' rite by you
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Going shopping with Soccer Mom and Bubastes for fu
*sigh*

You get a lot more done with writing (and your education) if you spent less time posting and more time writing.

And before you think that this is a personal slam directed at you, it isn't. I've said the same thing to legions of young writers who are still in school--less posting, more writing.

That's the best way to accomplish your goals. Seriously.

As for the science part--ANY subject will help your writing in the long run. If you have a love for science, then by all means pursue it. It doesn't mean a career in writing fantasy is doomed--not by a long stretch. A publisher isn't going to care what your background is in academia overall--they want a good, well-written manuscript.