Agh.... Is this rude to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mirrorkisses

Registered
Reaction score
I know that a lot of editors also post/read as well as general writers, so I have to ask a bit of advice concerning "the real world" and being a writer.
I was reading this snark post
http://misssnark.blogspot.com/2007/03/unpubbed-novelssocial-pariah.html

I never talk about my current work in public, except to say I'm working on a novel, or how much I've written. I only discuss it if a person asks, and then not much at all, because I tend to have a complex about it.

But when it comes to talking about writing, I go on and on about it. I am an intern right now, and I intern at a small publisher full of writers/post-english majors, and I guess I talk about writing so much because I feel really happy to finally be around people in real life that also write. (I never talked about writing so much at other jobs.) So... Is this considered rude for me to talk so much about my love of writing, or that I am interested in getting published?

BTW, it's clear to them that I am not in publishing for the benefit of an "in" to get published, and I would never talk about my novel to them to try to get them to publish me, which would just be really unprofessional. It's very obvious that I love editing.

Last edited:

Matera the Mad

Bartender, gimme a Linux Mint
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.firefromthesky.org
I think the blogpost is pretty good advice, as far as talk in general social situations. I don't talk to very many people about my interesting educational experiences with my computer for the same reasons. In the right setting, with the right people -- and that will not be the same for everyone -- one can babble happily away all day. That's what forums are for ;)

Shweta

Sick and absent
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
shwetanarayan.org