PDA

View Full Version : Does size matter?

soleary
05-01-2008, 06:57 PM
Hee Hee Hee

No, seriously. My non-fiction book proposal on marketing is now 70 pages long, as a literary agent has asked for me to write another sample chapter and give other areas more meat. Is there a length that's too long for a non-fiction book proposal?

Also, what's the proper length for a non-fiction manuscript? I'm new at the author thing, and would appreciate any pearls of wisdom the group as to offer.

Thanks!

soleary

slcboston
05-01-2008, 07:04 PM
I can't speak to proposals - but just from the nonfiction I do read there doesn't seem to be any set length for the work itself. I think that depends on the topic. Smaller topics mean smaller books, so what you might want to do is wander through your local bookstore and see what the "average" length is in your particular subject matter, for topics similar in weight to yours.

underthecity
05-01-2008, 07:59 PM
Seventy pages for a nonfiction book proposal?? Holy Crap! I'm not an expert, but I have written a couple proposals and have studied quite a bit on how to write them, but that's too long. The proposal should probably be about ten pages, maximum.

And regarding a nonfiction book length, that really depends on the subject. Maybe shoot for 50 to 100K words, but again, it depends on the subject and how much detail you're going into about it.

allen

soleary
05-01-2008, 08:07 PM
Thanks slc and under -- much appreciated! My proposal suggests a catastrophic albeit totally logical change in the way the advertising and marketing industry operates. The two agents I'm corresponding with keep saying that they think I've really got something interesting here, and they'd like to see more. I guess my worry is that I'll have to either write the entire book or take some things out if they want to shop it in proposal form.

Thanks again!
soleary

IceCreamEmpress
05-01-2008, 08:52 PM