PDA

View Full Version : Contract Negotiation

saf1367
04-30-2008, 11:05 PM
I've been offered a publishing contract with a major legal publisher. As a first-time author, I'm not certain how to negotiate the contract because I'm not familiar with industry standards. The book is a niche legal publication that will be marketed to legal classrooms and the professional market.

I've been offered a $2,000 advance and $1,000 grant. Is this ridiculously low? I'd never heard of a grant before but it is a one-time payment that does not offset royalty payments.

I've been offered tiered royalties based on net receipts. The royalties start at 12% and progress to 15%, based on number of books sold. Should I negotiate these terms or be satisfied with what they've offered? The book will retail for around $40. I'm not happy with royalties on net receipts but I'm told that the publisher will not budge on this issue.

I've also heard that you can research a publisher's past advances and royalties. Where would I find this information?

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

gdaniel
05-02-2008, 04:02 AM
Textbook publishing offers much lower advances, traditionally, than trade book publishing, and grants also are fairly common in textbook publishing. Royalties on net receipts are also common, but I would try to push back a bit and get them a few points higher if possible. You aren't going to find a particular publisher's past advances anywhere (I'm an agent and should know). Congrats on the offer!

saf1367
05-02-2008, 05:09 PM
Thanks for the info gdaniel. I wasn't aware of those differences between textbook and tradebook publishing.

aka eraser
05-02-2008, 05:55 PM
I know nothing about textbook publishing but one of the things I negotiated in my contract was the level at which the higher royalties kicked in. I had the thresholds lowered.

I'd like to see Medievalist or someone else who's published in the scholarly field chime in on this.