My computer crashed :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

dreamsofnever

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kellyguentner.com
So I used to be in the habit of making sure to email myself a copy of whatever I was working on at least on a biweekly basis. I've been slacking for the last two months (possibly three) and now, wouldn't ya know it, my computer crashed.

It just wouldn't even load windows until my husband did a system reboot (not sure if that's what it was called) and basically from that, the computer started as a fresh slate. We're talking NOTHING loaded. He's currently searching for our Microsoft Office because it doesn't even have that on it.

This just really sucks. Sorry for the whine/rant, but I'm pretty bummed about losing this much work because of my own stupidity.

But I will rewrite and hopefully it will be better than the first version.

Anyone else had this happen? Or are you all smart back-uppers? If not, learn your lesson from me and email yourself copies of your wips!

Namatu

Lost in mental space.
Registered
Reaction score
That sucks. My computer hasn't (yet) crashed on me, but it did lose some new material I'd written, despite my saving it to both my hard drive and a jump drive. The save as date and time were right, but the words weren't there. I now email new material to myself, save it as the old file to the hard drive and jump drive, and save it as a new file too. I don't feel even slightly paranoid. Technology is both friend and enemy.

JamieFord

giving resonant directions
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jamieford.com
Ouch. I use a $20 jump drive. I don't back-up my WIP file every day, but fairly often. Or I'm copying files from my desktop to my laptop, so I have tons of copies at various stages of progress floating around. (Knock on wood).

drachin8

post-apocalyptic bunny
Poetry Book Collaborator
Registered
Reaction score
Oh, ouch, that sucks.

*hugs*