PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for non-fiction books

sunnysideup
04-25-2008, 02:52 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm new to this board, just wanted to say hello. Anyhow, I am the author of two non-fiction books, and am getting ready to propose my third. I'm interested to hear about how others get their ideas for their books. Do you tend to "write what you know" or are there particular topics that have always interested you?

For me, I tend to write what I know, though I'm not an expert on the topics, in terms of having a career in those fields.

Where do you come up with your ideas? Or do you answer ads for book authors from job boards?

K1P1
04-25-2008, 04:03 AM
I write what I know, which is knitting.

underthecity
04-25-2008, 04:29 AM
I just had ideas for my three books. The first one, shown in my avatar, was about a subject I was interested in, and I wanted to write about it. It was a book that hadn't been written before.

I have concrete ideas for three more nonfiction books, but:

Book 1. Agents queried with a proposal showed no interest.

Book 2: I could not find the right people to contact regarding the subject matter.

Book 3: See above.

These books are about subjects that interest me, subjects on a national level, but are on a mental shelf while I work on my novel.

allen

scope
04-25-2008, 07:59 AM
From everywhere and anywhere. Beyond thinking, I have learned to use my 5 senses to be the possible stimuli of an idea. I don't do anything special except keep all the antennas up and running. I have learned to consider most everything as a possible idea for a book. The books I've been fortunate enough to have published cover a range of individual ideas and subjects, most all of which have nothing in common (other than they are all nonfiction).

flashgordon
04-26-2008, 08:14 PM