Parents--I need help with kid-sizes!

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha
I don't have access to kids, and don't think the local school would take kindly to me chasing theirs around with a tape measure.

I may have a HUGE project ahead and need an idea about the:

Nape to floor length for

12 year olds and

8 year olds.

I can't go by height, but this crazy nape-to-floor number.

If any of you have kids in that age group, could you PM or post their numbers to me? I need enough numbers to figure out a base average.

It ain't for anything too strange, I promise! My day job is bidding for a costuming contract with the Disney World people (WOOT!) and suddenly nape-to-floor numbers are looming large in my life! :hooray:

Thank you muchly!!

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I have a ten yo (but he wears size 12 clothes) and a 7 yo. I'll measure them tonight for you. Just to be accurate, are you wanting nape of the neck to floor measurements?

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Just to be accurate, are you wanting nape of the neck to floor measurements?

Kee-rect!

whack off a foot (for the head), or do you need something more accurate than that?

Ditto kee-rect!

If I could go by height I could Google averages for their age and subtract, but everyone has a different length head and neck combo. I found that out the first week I started Costuming 101 at college.

(I sure hope that one actor finally got over his hissy fit with me! It wasn't MY fault I didn't factor in some ease in his pantaloons. No one ever told me that boys need a little extra space just there! :D )

Thanks all!

Last edited:

reigningcatsndogs

Too sad for words.
Registered
Reaction score
Missing Writer??? May flights of angels carry you