Rights and useage. Please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

ALLWritety

One Step closer, I hope!
Registered
Reaction score
Howdy folks,

Not sure where to ask this so if it is in the wrong place then MODs please move to the correct place.

Here is the low down:

I am a qualified Kindergarten teacher. I responded to an add for a kindergarten curriculum writer. Hey right up my street! Got the gig, wrote the Kindy Curriculum and sent off the copy for them to have a look at.

I have just recieved an email and they said:

"Do I have rights to this? I want to be able to sell it on a website. Otherwise it looks good, I would just have to add to it right, like some activities and such."

Now the ad said it was for home schooling and implied that the person themselves would use the curriculum. There was no mention of it being sold until now.

I undertstand "Writer for Hire" that what i write belongs to that person or Co. but there was no mention of selling it on the web until now or i would have made a better deal.

However it is a great (even if I do say so my self!!) comprensive 3 year curriculum. It covers a monthly theme which is broken down into a weekly theme, with exercise, songs and a lot of activities all added in.

So i was thinking that i too could sell it. It is good and i am sure it could sell.

Basically what i am asking is this:

1) Is there a way that we both could sell this curriculum - legally

2) Would my name go on the curriculum or theirs?

3) If they sell it could i get a percentage of the money from their sales?

So if you can give me any words of wisdom and legal info that would be great.

I will wait to see what you guys and gals say before I reply to the email.

Thanks

Kev

K1P1

Procrastination is its own reward
Registered
Reaction score
Did you have a contract or a letter of agreement? If so, what did it say about rights?

CDarklock

Yes!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.darklock.com