PublishAmerica backer

usay

Registered
Reaction score
Hi,
Just want you to know that I have my first children's book published through PublishAmerica. I cannot agree with the negative things written about them. If anyone is interested, Neddy the Nutty Acorn is my book, which you will be hearing alot of soon.
Go to their web site and check my book out. I can now say I Am A Published Author.
USAY

Christine N.

haz a shiny new book cover
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.christine-norris.com
Where will I be hearing a lot about your book?

I'm asking because I really want to know, and to stimulate discussion. Nothing nefarious in the question or the asking. I want a completely honest answer, please.

Marie Pacha

Still a work in progress
Registered
Reaction score
Congratulations.

Your 36 page book is selling for $19.95 on PA's web site, $17.95 on BarnesandNoble.com, and $19.95 on Amazon.com.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (312 pages) is selling for $8.99 at BarnesandNoble.com.

Beatrix Potter's Tale of Peter Rabbit, one of the most delightful children's stories ever written, with incredible illustrations (70 pages, hardcover) is selling for $6.99 on Barnesandnoble.com.

The genre of children's literature has some pretty high standards for success.

Christine N.

haz a shiny new book cover
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.christine-norris.com
That I will attest to. Children's lit is one of the toughest parts of the business, and there are a million picture books out there, vying for attention. It's also hard to make a living at, since most picture book writers only get half of the 10% royalty, splitting it with the illustrator.

Overall, you can't compare novels with picture books, because PB's are so much more expensive to produce.

However, Jane Yolen's "How do Dinosaurs Go to School", at 40 pages, is $16.99 regular price in hardcover.

Yours is 4 pages shorter, in paperback, and costs $3 more.

Last edited:

Marian Perera

starting over
Registered