Self Published my Sci-Fi novel (two weeks ago)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SamCoulson

Registered
Reaction score
Before I published I lurked through this forum a while and weighed a lot of the advice and lessons learned. Given that I took--I thought I should also give.

Personal Background: I'm a professional (corporate/government/technical) writer, and have been for ten years. I've done anything from writing public policy to editing international briefs about high end defense toys. I have a handful of academic degrees (English, Social Theory, Master's in Literature). So, going into this, I have quite a few skills that are very useful when self publishing: I did all of my own formatting for print and digital versions, and did the graphic editing (but did not create the art) to setup my cover, etc. This is my first novel.

Why Self-Publish: I self published mostly because I wanted to. Consider me a bit of a digital hippie, but I have a belief in crowd funding, independent publishing, and generally 'sticking it to the man'. Additionally, like most self-published writers, I really enjoy the level of control that I have over my work.

What I Published: A sci-fi adventure story. It's the first in what I plan to be a four-book series. I'm about 1/4 into the second book now.

My plan: First and foremost, my plan for this book isn't to make money. I mean, sure, I want to buy a few nice bottles of scotch by the time I'm done--but my day job keeps me fed and bedded. My goal is to build readership and learn the system.

I went Amazon and enrolled in KDP. I'd heard mixed reviews about e-book give-away periods on Amazon, and was simply too curious not to test it out. So, that's how I started: